Windows

Window When I was working at a Drug and Alcohol Rehabilitation Program, one of their amazing addiction counselors shared a story with me that was one of the most beautiful I’ve ever heard. It is the story of love, of grace, of gratitude, and in that, a story of inspiration and the greatest beauty in life. It is called “The Window on the Heart” by  Kent Nerburn, and you can read it here. It is part of his book Small Graces: The Quiet Gifts of Everyday Life.

Bear

In Loving Memory of our Bear

One of the reasons I love this story so much is that it reminds me of the beautiful gifts I receive many mornings when I step out and walk up the mountain a ways to where our dear big dog Bear is buried. Standing there, I take a deep breath and become present not by the nature that surrounds me but by the memory of the sweet, loyal, unconditionally loving dog Bear, feeling how much he would’ve loved to have been here this morning with me. Gently, as if guided by a loving heart, I begin noticing the grass swaying in the morning breeze, the sun gently extending over the sea of fog. Another day, and I get to be here. This is my window. I am alive, in love.

2 comments

  1. I really enjoyed reading about you. The link to “The Window on the Heart” is really warm and fuzzy…a great way to remind us all that every day is a miracle to behold and can always be beautiful with a slight shift in perspective. Thank you for sharing your story. Keep up the good work.

  2. On the page entitled “Windows’ you provide recommend the book Small Graces: The Quiet Gifts of Everyday Life, prefacing it with “you can read it here”. Well you can’t read it there But you can read it at home if you purchase it from Amazon where the link takes you. By the way the book is also available at Thriftbooks for $3.97 including shipping if you wish to get a copy for a friend. (http://www.thriftbooks.com/viewdetails.aspx?isbn=1577310721)


Leave a Reply

